You’re Not Welcome: A Fat Woman Tries to Date in the Patriarchy

I may be crazy-looking, but I am neither an opportunity for your self-reflection nor an avenue for your growth

Rachael Hope
Fattitude

--

Photo by Polina Zimmerman from Pexels

Online dating isn’t all bad. After all, I met my partner through a Craigslist Ad, and he’s amazing. I’ve met some great people through apps like OK Cupid and Tinder. Some days, it’s fun and flirty and fruitful. Today is not one of those days.

The Setup

Last night, I log in to OK Cupid and click onto my “intros,” messages left by folks who’d liked me who I hadn’t liked back on my current profile. Yes, I’ve deleted and rejoined a few times to try and start from scratch. I found a message from a couple of weeks ago from a face I recognized both from dating apps as crossing paths in local circles.

His message has multiple sentences, and even line breaks! I’m feelin’ it. He tells me he likes my profile, and comments on my joie de vivre, in his own words.

Then it gets a tad weird, but still seemingly salvageable. He thinks that “maybe we have met in passing” and says he has “known of me” for quite some time and I can ask him how, but it’s embarrassing to put in an introduction.

--

--

Rachael Hope
Fattitude

Polyamorous, loud laughing unapologetic feminist, rad fatty, and epic sweet tooth.