Faizur Rehman Design Tools & Desk

Best tools for Designer 2019

Faizur Rehman
Faizur
Published in
4 min readJan 10, 2019

--

Over the past serval years, I used so many tools for designing and mostly I learned from itself by watching youtube and experimenting every day!

I categorized my tools in the different category because I am a freelancer, I am doing so many things like designing, coding, content creating youtube, Instagram and working with clients!

In this article, I am sharing with you my favorite tools and Why you should use. Also, this article will help you to make the combination of your perfect tools 2019

Here we go… 🏄🏻‍♂️

Design Tools

In designing, I used mostly Sketch and Adobe XD because both tools are really powerful and have an intuitive interface with great functionality! Its help me to design beautiful interface, prototype and also easily share my work with clients!

Adobe Photoshop

Basically nowadays for me just editing software I just use for photos editing!

Adobe Illustrator

Illustrator still a great tool for designing illustrations and graphics, I use for only designing icons and graphics!

Sketch vs Adobe XD

If you have the question that what is the best tool then my answer will be that both tools are great It depends on you on you, How much you feel comfortable when you are using tools!

But? The sketch is supporting only MacOS and Adobe XD is supporting both platforms that’s a big difference in these tools!

Prototype

as I experienced from prototype tools I really enjoyed in Flinto and Protopie tool Its really good and simple to building prototype very fast, Another principal is also a great tool but in the beginning, it looks like very complex as I experienced.

As started working on the principal I really don’t understand that time, how animation working example,

  • Automate animating my objects
  • Showing too many properties

But if you understand then everything gets so much smoother in principal.

Flinto vs ProtoPie vs Principal

I will just say if you are beginner then start from flinto because it’s so much easier and again everything depends on your comfort-zoon!

Frontend Coding

This is kind for me secondary skillset because I love so much coding! over the pasts, I learn everything in coding by watching youtube video! Again only watching is enough until you don’t start developing your things by using your knowledge whatever you have learned~

If you have the question I am designer, Should learn coding skills then I will just say, Always good if you have more and If you are an employee doing the job then you know properly know that most companies require basic HTML, CSS skills.

It’s not too hard, Start today! an example

  • HTML basic covering in 1 week
  • CSS basic covering 2 Weeks
  • Javascript basic understand and mindset in 1 month

then start creating things, taking challenges, find the solutions online that’s how you learn. Sounds simple but discipline is important.

Bootstrap

When I had some knowledge about coding I mean writing HTML, CSS and little bit javascript then suddenly I started using bootstrap If you don’t know what is a bootstrap it’s a framework for creating a responsive website. I mostly learn by using bootstrap when I code my first website by using bootstrap then my confidence level goes up and up.

I will say It’s not too hard, Start learns today and At least learn basics It will help you a lot!

Collaboration Tools

These are the most powerful Collaboration tools I am using from last year!

  • Slack
  • Trello
  • Airtable
  • Evernote

Slack

Slack is the really great tool for collaborating with the team, people, clients and I love this tool because of communication and file sharing so so much easier.

Trello

Trello I use for project tracking, building tasks list, even assign work to other people! It’s simple and easy to tool to handle small or big complex projects! even you can use trello for

  • Your goal list
  • Personal tasks
  • Building Plans
  • Course outline
  • Youtube playlist
  • and many more

Airtable:

I have a small story behind this tool, before using this tool, I was very disappointed because of Managing projects list really hard, putting proposals, documents, and the client information on random places and even sometimes I forgot what was I offered to the client like budget, services.

Then I started using airable, over the one month I really controlled on most things, that’s why airtable in this list.

Evernote: This all about my personal things, I use Evernote so much for saving personal info, ideas, and more.

What I am learning in 2019

I hope you, This article will help you to create your skillset in 2019, and Let me know what is your favorite tools!

Also, checkout beautiful coming soon pages for your website!

This story is published in Noteworthy, where 10,000+ readers come every day to learn about the people & ideas shaping the products we love.

Follow our publication to see more product & design stories featured by the Journal team.

--

--

Faizur Rehman
Faizur

Creative Director & Consultant— Let's work together me@faizur.com