What is the Best Way to Learn UX/UI Design

For UI/UX designers, beginners and Newbies

Faizur Rehman
Faizur
3 min readMar 14, 2019

--

Over the past years, I am getting the same question on my Instagram from beginners and Newbies that How can I become UX/UI designer. If you have the same question then this article is gonna help you and clear your thoughts about design and help you to choose the right career and the right tools, step by step!

Let’s begin 🏂!

First Understand the Difference between UX/UI Design

This is a very important step for understanding before beginning anything in design because UX/UI is very wide and endless field for the designer.

Understand

  • UX is not part Of UI, UI is part of UX
  • UX is a big umbrella where many things come under this like UIDesign, InteractionDesign, VisualDesign and more.
  • Understand What does UX/UI designer do

What does a UI Designer do

UI Design

What does a UX Designer do

Image UX Design

This is how the designers work with different things and It totally depends on the level of experience because of many designers works on both skills together UX/UI design, some are work only on UX, some on UI. but If you are beginner don’t confuse just learn step by step.

There are plenty of things left in UX part I am just giving you a basic overview of UX design (Image UX design).

_

Ask Right Questions

Many guys & Newbies, do this big mistake again and again that asks broad questions itself or from someone else Example: How can I learn UX/UI design and that’s why most of the people never come up with right solution or right answer. So please stop confusing yourself and ask a proper question which could lead you in the right direction.

Good Examples

  • How I can use Photoshop as a UI designer, and What things I need to change or focus to become UI design.
  • What is the best way to learn UX skills if I am already a UI designer?
  • What are the steps can help me to become a UX designer
  • How I can improve my UI skills

Don’t ask broad questions, Just ask very specific

_

Choose Right Tools for Your Work.

These are Industry Standard tools for designing and Prototyping. Start from learning one tool then learn other tools, In the beginning, go with Adobe XD/Figma (Windows User) If you have a mac then Sketch and other tools.

_

Learn from valuable sources

- Medium Blog

Medium is one potential source to learn everything about this design.

- Invision Blogs

Invision is an amazing source where you learn a lot about the business of design included design, freelance, clients and more.

- YouTube

On the youtube, there are some great channel for UX/UI design learning like TheFutur, Sketch Together, Adobe, Devtips, and My channel.

_

My Best Reading Books for Designer.

  • Hooked by Nir Eyal
  • Don’t Make Me Think by Steve Krug
  • The Design of Everyday Things by Don Norman
  • Creative Strategy & The Business of Design
  • Sprint by Jake Knapp
  • Freebie book on UXPIN

Thank you for reading

I am sharing everyday design knowledge online, If you wanna learn more then you can follow me on Instagram and Dribbble and Also you can join me design group on facebook called DesignwithFaizur.

Don’t forget to Checkout amazing coming soon pages.

--

--

Faizur Rehman
Faizur
Editor for

Creative Director & Consultant— Let's work together me@faizur.com