The Benefits of Comparing Yourself to Others for Career Growth

Rizko Fatra
lifeatFAZZ
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2019
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Many people will tell you not to compare yourself to others, as it can negatively impact your mental health. However, there are benefits to this practice that are often overlooked. Personally, I find that observing and comparing myself to others can be a great source of motivation.

When I see someone who is confident speaking in public, I take note of what they do to improve their skills. If someone is an expert in analyzing issues, I strive to become an expert in critical thinking as well. This type of comparison is not about competing with others, but rather using their success as inspiration for personal growth.

For instance, when a high-school friend of mine created a social movement called Jalan Inovasi Sosial (Janis), I felt compelled to do the same. I had always dreamed of inspiring others through a social movement, so I and a few friends started a reading community called KumpulBaca. Through this community, we promote the movement of #sejammembaca to encourage more people to read, as I believe positive motivation is contagious.

Similar to my personal life, I faced a career shift that required me to learn new skills and techniques. Despite my educational background in agriculture, I decided to pursue a career as a content writer. This was a challenging process that required me to learn how to generate content, build educative yet persuasive messages, and attract more traffic to my work.

To achieve this goal, I observed and learned from my colleagues who were experts in marketing. I read articles, books, and journals to expand my knowledge, and I asked experts for their perspectives. I joined training sessions to broaden my insights, and I practiced regularly to develop my skills.

The key takeaway is that we should always be open to learning as it is essential to our growth. Just like nutrition is vital to our bodies, we need to nourish our minds with knowledge. To advance our careers, we must not only develop our hard skills but also our mindset and soft skills. It’s important to be persistent and never stop learning from our surroundings.

--

--

Rizko Fatra
lifeatFAZZ

Here you'll find content about Marketing, Books and Life. Enjoy reading 😊