I Need a Break

Belle Vianco
lifeatFAZZ
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2019

What happens when you give a fresh high school graduate a full time job?

The fresh graduate will learn how to live and work in the real world. She will experience unique situations in the work environment. She will understand what it’s like to cooperate with others. I am that fresh high-school graduate.

When I was a junior in high-school I decided that I didn’t want to go to college yet. I told my parents that I was going to take a gap year. A gap year is basically a break before going to college.

There were many reasons why I made my decision, however the thing that sealed the deal for me was experience. I wanted to gain work experience before I picked my major, so I would definitely know what I want to study. The summer of 2018 I got my first internship, after a few months there I started thinking of looking for a full-time job.

Skip forward to a year later. I found a full-time job with PAYFAZZ. Before I started working here, I was worried that I wouldn’t be accepted, because I didn’t have a degree. However, I was pleasantly surprised when they reach out to me and offered me a position.

You are given the freedom to experiment in a startup. That’s the beauty of it. I know I’m learning from the best, and I am able to actually apply my skills in real life. The community here is always motivating me to do better. It’s a privilege to work and study at the same time.

Starting to work at 18 is an unforgettable experience. There are many things I learned here — many things I wouldn’t learn in college.

I’m not going to sugarcoat anything. It can be difficult seeing your friends going off to college, you might even feel like you’re missing out on the experience. But, believe it or not, it’s worth it.

The job taught me to take full responsibility for my actions, it made me more aware of all the decisions I made. I understood what it was like working with other people with different opinions. Another thing I learned while working in a startup, is that I needed to be social. It’s important to make new friends here.

I graduated high-school in 2018, I have been working for almost a year, and I might not be going to college this year. There is no rush for me to go, because working in a startup I am free to experiment. This is a great chance for me to see and experience new things.

It’s alright if you decide to not go to college immediately, you can take a break and experiment. Explore your interests while you still can, and expand your circle.You’ll never truly experience anything if you don’t escape it.

You wouldn’t want to commit to a major, and then realizing that you have no interest in it at all. That will be disappointing. Take your break, and think about your options.

Make a smart choice before you take a step.

--

--