A Resume Gap Doesn’t Mean What You Think

It’s actually a feminist issue.

Ashley Cleland, M.Ed.
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

Ah, the dreaded gap in the resume.

Job seekers worry about it and recruiters wonder what it means when someone has a period of unemployment.

I think this is nonsense.

Recruiters, say it with me, a gap in a resume is not a big deal. It should never be a deal-breaker. Having a gap on the resume says nothing about how hirable, trainable, and valuable a candidate is for the job.

The misconception that it does is super harmful and especially damaging to women.

Women usually leave a job for a good reason.

As an empowered career coach, I speak with people navigating career and life transitions. People usually don’t talk to me when they’re happy and satisfied in their careers.

But I didn’t expect how often I’d hear from women and particularly women of color who escaped workplace harassment, sexual violence, and racism. This is often their primary reason for job loss, even now.

These brave women left jobs for their safety and well-being. Leaving a toxic workplace isn’t usually a part of the five-year plan.

--

--

Ashley Cleland, M.Ed.
Fearless She Wrote

Educator & Writer. Passionate about feminist leadership. *Views my own*