As a Good Christian Child, I Internalized These 6 Misogynist Beliefs

Elizabeth Lesser and other feminist leaders empower me to revoke childhood teachings to set the record straight.

Alice Crady
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo Credit: Unsplash, Marko Novakovic

My dad and older brother wrestled on the floor as my mom captured the entertainment on video. At five years old, I felt eager to join. But when I got knocked over, I grew angry. Instead of consoling me, they laughed at me; then, my brothers’ theatrical karate moves took centerstage.

Pouting in the corner, my child-self accepted that my emotions were ridiculous. I’m not cool enough.

A patriarchal Christian lens informed my world beliefs. I unknowingly developed internalized misogyny. I became “one of the boys” to avoid seeming weak. Subconsciously, I equated feminine with stupid; believing men were inherently better. If God says so, they must be.

As I grew up, I felt too fierce to ever depend on a husband, asking for money or permission. Instead, I used people-pleasing, over-achieving, and perfectionism to secure independence. I lost my authenticity.

When I dove into shadow work nine months ago, I discovered significant repressed anger. Sorting through waves of pain now, I ponder: How do women move forward from a lifetime of emotional…

--

--

Alice Crady
Fearless She Wrote

Artist & wellness advocate blending creativity, healing, & self-expression. Explore more: AllisonCrady.com 🌸🎶 #Creativity #MentalHealth #Relationships