Can a Stay-at-Home-Mom Be a Feminist?

Or am I just a hypocrite?

Emme Beckett
Fearless She Wrote

--

Image by Kiselev Andrey Valerevich on Shutterstock

2016–2020

Wow. What a time to be a woman. Something’s been in the air. It’s thick. It’s moving. It’s palpable. It’s getting bigger.

And it’s inspiring the hell out of me.

As I kneel here, scrubbing my kitchen floor, it amazes me that less than a hundred years ago women couldn’t even vote.

Yet, in the last election women came out in droves wearing their pussyhats marching for equality and social change.

Photo by Monica Melton on Unsplash

My friend, Amanda, and three of her friends wanted to be part of that movement, but couldn’t make it to Washington DC, so they decided they’d march in their own town.

They posted it on their Facebook pages, someone shared it, then it was shared and shared and shared again.

6,000 people joined Amanda that day.

This thing has momentum and, as I stand here rinsing the dishes, I smile.

I’m proud to be a woman in 2020.

We are the Silence Breakers. We are #metoo. We are Time’s Up.

--

--