Fellow Survivors: 50% of Us Will Develop PTSD

This statistic is a startling reminder that the trauma suffered by survivors does not receive the attention it deserves.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

As a sexual assault survivor myself, this statistic really hits home. In particular as I have also been diagnosed with PTSD due to the assault I suffered.

49% of sexual assault survivors will develop PTSD due to their assault.

I shouldn’t be surprised that I myself developed PTSD following my assault, considering that the statistics weren’t exactly in my favor.

Imagine living in a reality where the flip of a coin decides whether or not you’ll be living with a life sentence of a horrible mental health condition, resulting in trauma-related struggles in your day-to-day life. Forever.

And just to be clear, those survivors who don’t develop PTSD don’t come out of such a violation unscathed. They still live with the horrific effects of sexual assault, whether or not they experience panic attacks, triggerings, or other PTSD side effects.

As a society, we need to be better at…

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨