How to Process Feelings in An Abusive Relationship

So what if it was a love marriage? It was hell for me.

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Fighting Against Domestic Violence
6 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Victoria_Borodinova | Pixabay

Trigger Warning: this article contains descriptions of domestic violence and abuse that may not be suitable for all readers. Fearless community, please read with care.

“Has he ever trapped you in a room and not let you out?
Has he ever raised a fist as if he were going to hit you?
Has he ever thrown an object that hit you or nearly did?
Has he ever held you down or grabbed you to restrain you?
Has he ever shoved, poked, or grabbed you?
Has he ever threatened to hurt you?
If the answer to any of these questions is yes, then we can stop wondering whether he’ll ever be violent; he already has been.”
Lundy Bancroft

In the year 2015, I got married with my consent. It was a love marriage. A few weeks before the wedding, several arguments and fights took place and I stepped back from it. I didn’t entertain him and his greedy family for a week. But I didn’t realize the gravity of the situation then. I reconsidered my decision…

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Fighting Against Domestic Violence

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/