How to Tell When It’s Time to End a Relationship

The 5 lines I’ve found that should never be crossed

Alecia Kennedy
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

My first marriage ended dramatically. I kissed my ex-husband goodbye in the morning and as soon as his car was out of sight, I started packing. I took my clothes out of the closet and laid them, still on hangers, in the back of my car. I threw drawers full of underwear, socks, and t-shirts in the floorboards. I worked quickly, fearing that he would return home before I could leave. Finally, I placed my cat Samantha in her carrier and locked the kitchen door behind me, never to return.

I managed to get away undetected. My ex didn’t realize I was gone until he came home from work, and by then I had already taken out a restraining order against him and was hiding out in a women’s shelter where I would stay until our court date a week later.

After my day in court, I filed for divorce and promptly moved out of state. By the time our divorce was final, I had a new life, new friends, a new apartment, and a renewed sense of hope for my future — something I had lost over the six years of our marriage.

In preparation for my grand escape, I spent the last month of our married life slipping our wedding china and my personal items into a storage unit. Piece by piece, household appliances, linens, and pictures…

--

--