I Chose to End My Pregnancy: Do I Have Permission to Grieve?

Chrissy Teigen and Meghan Markle’s miscarriages are allowing women to open up about their losses. Here is my story.

Emme Beckett
Fearless She Wrote

--

Image By veronellefoto on Shutterstock

It was just a choice. It was my right. It was legal and safe. Women do it every day. Easy peasy.

Yet, it landed me in the darkest, most unexpected, despair I’ve ever known.

I had never really thought about whether I considered myself pro-life or pro-choice. I didn’t judge women either way. I could see both sides. I was just thankful that I had made it through high school and college without having to make that decision.

Then, there I was. In my 20’s. Staring at the two lines. Well, wait, one line is very faint. Maybe I’m not? Let me pee on another one. Still two. I’ll buy a different brand and retry tomorrow.

This can’t be right. We’re always careful. Careful enough.

How it Happened

We practiced the rhythm method. My periods were like clockwork, so it made it simple. I knew exactly when I’d ovulate, so we’d abstain from sex four days before and three days after, just to be safe. We called it “danger zone.”

--

--