Loving Diamond Rings Doesn’t Make Me Less of a Feminist

If that’s an issue to someone, they’ve missed the entire point of feminism.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

My husband proposed to me with a big ol’ diamond ring.

And I got a diamond wedding band to match.

My engagement ring was the first-ever diamond anything I’d owned, and I could tell from right then and there that this would be a lifelong love affair.

And apparently that really upsets some people.

So much so that they feel they need to verbally chastise or attack my character.

Some question the validity of my feminist position.

Huh. Interesting.

I’m not a fake feminist for liking pretty jewelry.

Frankly? I love diamonds.

So much so that my husband gifted me a pair of diamond studs on the morning of our wedding.

I happily wear them every day.

I’m also a low-maintenance, committed feminist woman who you wouldn’t necessarily peg to wear what’s on my left ring finger.

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨