My Encounter with Tony Robbins and What it Taught Me About Abuse of Power

My brief experience with Robbins showed me just how easy it is for individuals of status and influence to take advantage of everyday people.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

Screenshot via Tony Robbins Instagram Page

The first time I’d heard of Tony Robbins was when I saw him at a live event in Toronto last year.

I’d only gone to the event because I was a former Rachel Hollis fan at the time, and it was one of my all-time dreams to see her speak live.

Former, because since then I’ve learned several realities about Hollis that I had vehemently denied for as long as possible, until it was all too clear I was fooling myself:

Before that conference in Toronto, October 2019, I really didn’t know much about Tony Robbins, other than the fact that he once convinced Oprah to believe in herself enough to run across a bed of hot coals.

The friend who I went to Toronto with, the same one who had so loudly suggested I read Rachel Hollis’work, said…

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨