My Linkedin Profile is Not a Dating Ad

Can I please have one professional space online?

Maria Chapman
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Fizkes on Adobe Stock

Like any self-respecting content creator, I have a Linkedin profile that I use to network and connect with writers, editors, and other professionals I admire. I don’t evaluate requests to connect too thoroughly; I assume that people wishing to communicate with me have seen my work somewhere and are interested in seeing more.

After my recent interaction with a Linkedin user, I’m afraid I’ll need to spend more of my valuable time vetting these requests in the future.

I got a request from a gentleman (loose term) the other day and accepted. He had liked a piece I published, so it seemed safe to assume that he was interested in professional networking.

Later that day, he sent me a direct message saying hello. I responded in kind because maintaining and building my network is an integral part of this freelancing thing.

This new contact kept sending me messages. He complimented my appearance in a rather aggressive manner. I didn’t respond because my Linkedin profile is not a dating ad.

Then, he got irate. I didn’t respond because I have a Linkedin checklist courtesy of David J.P. Fisher’s Networking in the 21st Century that I schedule at 1:00 pm every day. I respond to messages…

--

--

Maria Chapman
Fearless She Wrote

Maria Chapman is the CEO of Connected Ghostwriting, LLC. She writes about mental health, social justice, relationships, and business leadership.