My Most Successful New Year’s Resolution Was to Leave My Abusive Husband

But your resolve needs to be strong if you want to leave for good.

Daisy Chains
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Josh Olalde on Unsplash

It was a New Year’s night like any other, until it became the one that would change the course of my life forever.

It was a chilly evening and I was enjoying a glass of wine or two with friends, while my two older girls were out with theirs.

Just when I was starting to relax, my older daughter called to say her sister was lying in the gutter, drunk. She was so concerned that she had also called for an ambulance. She was a very sensible 16-year-old who, over a decade later, is now an emergency room nurse.

It was around 8 in the evening, and our daughters hadn’t even been out long. Maybe the drink she was offered was spiked or laced with something else, or maybe she just wasn’t used to drinking alcohol and drank too much, too fast. We’ll never know.

I couldn’t drive as I’d had a glass of wine, but a friend kindly offered to take me home to my girls.

My husband didn’t want to go with us. His attitude seemed to be that she’d got herself into that state, she could sort herself out.

He’d already washed his hands of his teenage daughters as they no longer did exactly…

--

--

Daisy Chains
Fearless She Wrote

No holds barred discussion of relationships in all their glorious unholiness. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/daisychains