Why We Need to Talk About Postpartum

Andrea Huls
Fearless She Wrote
Published in
7 min readMar 5, 2020

--

A challenging period after giving birth.

woman crying
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

During my pregnancy, one of the things on my mind was labor. How will I know it’s time? Will everything go well? How painful is it going to be? Among other questions and doubts. I spent a lot less time thinking about what it would be like once I got home with my baby.

A midwife told me that most women could expect to feel sad, anxious, and exhausted after giving birth. It is entirely normal to feel like crying out of the blue. I had been advised to be kind to myself, but it’s a difficult period, and being kind to oneself is a real challenge.

I had a beautiful experience when I gave birth. While I was at the hospital, there were nurses and doctors I could call at any minute. My main focus was my child, and I could dedicate all my attention to him. But, even the first few days at the hospital weren’t easy. Everything is new.

Being out of the womb is a stressful time for a baby. For 41 weeks, my son was in a safe and warm environment, and suddenly he found himself in a strange new world. The only smell and voice newborns recognize their mothers and, naturally, want to be in their mother’s arms. I breastfed him and kept him close to me as much as possible.

We left the hospital on the evening of his third day. Just a few moments after leaving…

--

--

Andrea Huls
Fearless She Wrote

Writer, documentary filmmaker, photographer, feminist, mother, and much more.