Prepare to Be Lonely Spinsters, Fellow Feminists

Here’s more valuable advice from a really fab, borderline-misogynistic dude on the internet.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

I truthfully cannot remember the last time I laughed so hard, and so loudly, at a comment before.

I read it aloud to my husband, and he laughed, too.

The comment was long and rambling.

Essentially, it details how I was in the wrong to be offended when a complete stranger who I’d only been messaging for less than a day chewed into me (by calling me ugly, pasty and a stuck-up-b*tch) because I left his message unanswered for two hours.

I was in the middle of a three-hour university class. You know, getting an education.

And this online commentator spent several paragraphs detailing how I lacked common courtesy, and that ‘women need to understand that they should let men know if they’re going to disappear somewhere else for a few hours’.

I retorted with, in short, that this point was complete garbage, and no one is entitled to anyone’s time, and certainly not a misogynist throwing insults at me who had not replied to my messages for several hours and not seen a single issue with needing to let me know.

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨