Sexually Empowered Women Aren’t Going Anywhere

We’re just going to be over here finding ways to spin your insults into positives

Molly Frances
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by iordani on Adobe Stock

Throughout my life, people have used words to describe me that they meant as an insult. I’m not going to lie — at the time it felt like an insult in every way and seriously affected how I saw myself. But now that my life has been taken over by chronic illness and I’m rapidly approaching 40, I just don’t care anymore.

When these comments come from trolls on the internet, I can only think it’s because they are pissed off that a woman dares to discuss sex, have a lot of sex, and not feel bad about it. When these comments come from people who know me, it’s a reflection of their inability to understand and control me. Women you can’t control are scary as fuck.

Every woman who writes about sex receives shitty comments from basement-dwelling trolls who are too busy tormenting women behind their screens to build any semblance of real life. Let’s look at a couple of choice phrases and start owning that shit, not hiding from it.

I am a slut

The first time I was called a slut, I was 11 years old. I had no idea what the word meant then. Later, in high school, when a boy spread a rumor around school that we’d slept together, it came up…

--

--

Molly Frances
Fearless She Wrote

Molly Frances’s writing explores what it means to be human: relationships, families, sexuality, mental health, and growth.