She Told Me My Hair Was Unprofessional

Let’s be careful we aren’t telling women to quiet down or change their appearance.

Maria Chapman
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Hazel Chapman

The worst piece of professional advice I ever received was from a self-identified feminist. She was a professor at my university, and I took a few classes with her during my time there. In my senior year, as I was preparing for a job search, I entered her office to ask for a letter of recommendation.

After a brief discussion in her office about the letter, she agreed to write it. As I thanked her and turned to leave, she stopped me. “Maria, I have one piece of advice for you, one feminist to another,” she said.

“When you go on an interview, don’t ever wear your hair natural. The curls are too wild, and unprofessional. You’ll do best if you pull it back securely, or maybe even straighten it.”

My silly young self thanked this woman for her terrible advice and left her office.

Months later, as I was preparing for my first interview, I remembered her words and, despite what she said, I just couldn’t bring myself to tie my curls back.

My hair is my thing and is reflective of my personality.

I’m a bit off-beat and spontaneous. Though, as I’ve grown, I’ve learned how to harness that free spirit in…

--

--

Maria Chapman
Fearless She Wrote

Maria Chapman is the CEO of Connected Ghostwriting, LLC. She writes about mental health, social justice, relationships, and business leadership.