The Tale of a Stoner Girl

It took me a long while to be able to say it, admit it, and learn to be proud of it, but yes: I am a girl, and I smoke weed.

kenzie
Fearless She Wrote
3 min readJun 21, 2019

--

source

What can I say? I am sorry to disappoint you. Unless I’m not.

Here’s the deal: smoking weed is something I used to do regularly to release some stress, hang out with friends, and just chill. I was not addicted. I could easily go off of it and did when I decided it was enough. And no, I am not just saying that.

But when I started to smoke, I remember the first thought that popped into my head: what will people think?

There is often an association with weed and girls that does not go together: mothers claim boys don’t like girls who drink, much less girls who do drugs. When did I ever care for that though? But being raised in this society caused me to constantly doubt myself, and wonder if I was doing the right thing, if it was socially acceptable.

I found myself asking my guy friends to buy me weed, scared of what other people might think of me if they knew. I didn’t want anyone to know, but at the same time, I wasn’t ashamed of it.

And that’s when I noticed I didn’t really care about their opinion I just didn’t want their judgement. But who does have the power to judge me and my actions? Who has that right? No one. No one is perfect, and smoking weed does not make me flawed.

I thought, to hell with all the prejudices and notions we have of girls who smoke weed. They can be whomever they want to be: scientists, doctors, directors, writers, anything they want. And you have no right to judge them.

Because, yes, weed can ruin many people’s lives. But if it isn’t harming hers, why do people make it so hard for her to tell others she smokes it?

It is a constant struggle for women to admit to people that they drink, that they smoke, that they like drugs or not. Women are judged for drinking, not drinking, smoking, not smoking, using drugs, not using drugs, having sex, or not having any, basically doing anything or nothing will cause a pain in a woman’s life. From what I understand, women feel like aliens during their life for doing or not doing things. And how wrong is that?

I felt like an alien in my group of friends for being the one who had smoked weed. And, though now I have stopped, there is still a lot of taboo surrounding the idea of a girl with weed that I am constantly trying to break. When boys do it it never seems as bad as when a girl does it. Why must everything always be harder with women?

So let her smoke weed if she wants to, or not if she doesn’t. Don’t force her to do anything. Let her live her life, and go live yours: just don’t make hers any more complicated than it needs to be.

--

--