There’s a Difference Between Feminism and Misandry

Stop mixing up the two.

Alfie Jane
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Lindsey LaMont on Unsplash

Like most millennials, I have a slight addiction to social media and the internet. YouTube clips of Trevor Noah and Stephen Colbert were how I watched the news when I was living in China. People’s reactions to the news on Facebook were like crack to me. I was that person putting popcorn gifs on comment threads when I saw arguments on facebook.

Lately, I’ve been watching a rise and fall of the word “feminism.” People roll their eyes and throw out Femi-nazi all the time.

However, the Femi-nazis people talk about are not feminists. They’re misandrists. If feminism is going to survive, people need to learn the difference between the two.

What is misandry?

If you know what misogyny is, you know what misandry is. Misandry is the woman-version of misogyny. Dislike, contempt, and prejudice against men.

These are the women who would be horrified if another woman told her story of abuse. But if a man opened up about his own experiences with being abused, she’d roll her eyes or laugh at him.

These are the women who think it’s healthy and cute to watch teenagers and young women treat their boyfriends terribly. Nothing wrong with a woman acting like a stalker with her…

--

--