To Reveal a Narcissist, Just Ask the Right Questions

The questionnaire that helped me reveal the narcissist in my life

Carlyn Beccia
Fearless She Wrote

--

Artwork: © Carlyn Beccia | www.CarlynBeccia.com

New England winters force couples into bleak isolation that can either play out like The Shining or Love Actually. At the very least, you get to observe your partner in captivity. On one of those snowy evenings, I asked my ex-boyfriend if he would take a “personality test.”

“What kind of personality test?” His usual incredulous eye roll followed.

“Oh, it’s silly. It’s from, ah…a women’s magazine. It will help me get to know your hidden desires…”

I still giggle when I think back at my deception.

A. I do not read women’s magazines.

B. I would never rely on a personality test to assess “hidden desires”.

The test was not another lighthearted personality quiz but instead, a questionnaire developed by a team of researchers from the University of Copenhagen to summarize the “dark core” of personality found in people exhibiting high levels of Narcissism, Machiavellianism, Psychopathy, Egoism, Moral Disengagement, Psychological Entitlement, Sadism, and Spitefulness.

German researchers identified the key characteristics that are shared across these 9 “dark” personality traits and…

--

--

Carlyn Beccia
Fearless She Wrote

Author & illustrator. My latest books — 10 AT 10, MONSTROUS: THE LORE, GORE, & SCIENCE, and THEY LOST THEIR HEADS. Contact: CarlynBeccia.com