Trauma Impacts Every Decision You Make

Is your therapist right?

Danielle Dahl, MSML
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo Credit https://unsplash.com/@tjump

Her office is the epitome of hippy-dippy, mindfulness therapy. I love it in here. The wall decals, that cling for dear life, say things like “tranquility”. She has one of those, “water running over rocks”, serenity sound things. Books, upon books on trauma, anxiety, depression, and, of course, a copy of The Body Keeps the Score. (Seriously, if you have lived through any type of trauma, you should read this book.)

When I first came to see her, I thought it was because I needed help to deal with the pain that parenting my teenage daughter was causing me. I assumed that my child hated me, and I couldn’t understand why. I mean, I had been the complete opposite of the mother figures in my life.

On one hand, we had the abandoning mother: addicted to drugs, forfeiting a relationship with her children, absent, and incapable of keeping promises. On the other hand, we had the overbearing, verbally, physically, and emotionally abusive grandmother. I had been different on purpose.

I had my trauma under…

--

--

Danielle Dahl, MSML
Fearless She Wrote

Weaver of words. Our stories of trauma can help others create change. Leadership professional. Co-Founder at resilientstories.com