We Are Whole, Not Half

The love of my life has never, and will never, complete me.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

I have a bone to pick with whoever came up with the idea of “two halves coming together to make a whole" in romantic relationships.

This creates a very dangerous belief that one in themselves is not complete or adequate in their own, and that they require another person to bring fulfillment and value to their lives.

F*ck that noise.

In case you didn’t get the memo, each individual person has their own value. Each person is worthy enough in their own damn right.

I am currently engaged, a few months shy of marriage, and you know what? My partner doesn’t complete me.

He doesn’t make me whole. I am not half without him.

I am fulfilled and happy and a complete person, all by my lonesome.

This isn’t romance, it’s a societal issue.

Society convincing me that I was not a whole person in my own right, and sent me running into the arms of an abuser.

Had I known then what I know now, and recognized exactly how much value I have as a person, I would have probably had the courage to leave my ex abusive sooner

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨