Welcome to the American Taliban

Vena Moore
Fearless She Wrote
Published in
8 min readSep 7, 2021

--

The new abortion law in Texas is the Handmaid’s Tale in real-life action

Photo by Chris Boese on Unsplash

Let me first say that I have never been pregnant. However, I had a pregnancy scare nearly 15 years ago. Several of my family members became pregnant during that time. Additionally, a friend of mine obtained an abortion years before I knew her. I never judged her, because I don’t feel I have the right to tell other people with uteruses what they can or cannot do with their bodies.

With that said, the new abortion law in Texas that just passed last week is beyond insane.

Texas’s New Restrictive Abortion Law

The law bans abortions in the state of Texas after just six weeks, at a time when many people are unaware that they are even pregnant. In addition, instead of leaving enforcement of the law to the government, it authorizes private citizens to sue anyone who attempts to assist anyone in obtaining an abortion-anyone from a doctor who performs an abortion to an Uber driver who transports the person to a health care clinic. As the law stands, anyone who successfully sues someone would be entitled to $10,000. Lastly, the law does not make any exception for cases of rape or incest.

On the face of it, there is no way that the lawsuit aspect of Texas’s insane law can practically be implemented. Do…

--

--

Vena Moore
Fearless She Wrote

Dismantling white, male supremacy one word at a time.