What to Do After Being Groped

What options do we have?

Kayla Dhankhar
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by freestocks.org on Unsplash

I had known the man for a matter of hours before he slid his hand down my shirt while I was sleeping.

Yes, you read that right, I was sleeping in the presence of a man that I had barely met. There were six men on that bus, three other women, and two children. So who was I to assume it was safe to fall asleep?

What was the situation?

We were on an overnight bus so we could attend a long weekend event of an international club in Bagan, Myanmar. We started the night toasting and sharing stories. But the happy, upbeat vibe I fell asleep to did not match my feelings waking up with a hand in my shirt.

My reaction

I suddenly became aware of my surroundings and tried to wiggle my fingers to make sure it wasn’t me touching myself. But this hand was not mine, and neither was the beer scented breath I felt near my ear.

Cataplexy is defined as sudden episodes of muscle weakness usually triggered by strong emotions such as laughter, exhilaration, surprise, or anger.

Before I could plan any reaction, I brushed the hand away, muttered something like, “What the fuck!?” I…

--

--

Kayla Dhankhar
Fearless She Wrote

🌟 Empowering Empaths | Energy Healer | Life Coach | Light Language Artist🌟