Will Women Ever Really Be Safe?

Why it feels like a losing battle

Neha
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

I acknowledge that there has been significant progress in women’s rights over the centuries. I know as a woman in this time I’m lucky to be able to do all the things I can do, and do them freely. I can date, work, go to school, and choose not to get married or have children.

However, I also know that even now there are communities that still have the same backdated views that they force their daughters, wives, and sisters to follow.

There are still numerous stigmas ingrained in our societies that women are still forced to follow because if you don’t you’re shunned from society. You are called a “slut”. You’re seen as shameful.

For women, it just feels like there’s no winning. We will think we have solved one issue only for another to appear. As a woman, I just feel so defeated.

I Was Not Spared From Oppressive Stigma

I’m a 23-year-old woman, I’m Hindu and my culture is pretty conservative. The rules that women and girls in my culture are expected to follow are strict. They can’t wear overly revealing clothes, they have to wait after marriage to have sex and it is considered a great sin to have a child outside of marriage.

--

--