The New, Guilt-free Way to Love your Body

Dr. Marina Harris
Fearlessly Nourished
6 min readJul 29, 2020

--

Are you struggling with body image? Do you look at body positive ads and feel hopeless? Do you want to make peace with your body but just don’t know how?

I’ve been there.

Standing in front of the mirror, scrutinizing my body, picking at the parts I don’t like, spiraling into the dark black hole that is body dissatisfaction.

When you’re unhappy in your body, you notice every little thing. Every change, every shift in fluids, every little bit of bloating. And it feels like an avalanche that is impossible to claw your way out of.

On top of that, we are constantly bombarded with body-related images in the media. Ads that tell us to lose weight, slim down, get fit. Even ads that tell us to love our body and be comfortable in our own skin.

Before I studied psychology, I saw the body positive movement and was so thrilled. I felt like there was finally a solution.

But as I learned more about eating disorders and body image, I was devastated.

In a world where children as young as 5 years old suffer from eating disorders, and 46% of 9–11 year-old’s are dieting, how can we just decide to love our bodies?

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

--

--

Dr. Marina Harris
Fearlessly Nourished

Licensed Psychologist, CEO, and Mental Performance Consultant | Achieve the calm you deserve | https://linktr.ee/drmarinaharris