Track your progress every day

Feasible
Feasible
Published in
2 min readSep 11, 2018

--

Early in college, I went on a workout craze for a few months. I tracked every workout, tried to hit nearly every day of the week, and recorded pretty much everything I ate. It was obsessive (and unhealthy) to say the least, but it taught me some important lessons.

After college (and many beers later), I implored many of the lessons learned years before into losing weight and getting in shape. I started running. At first, just a couple of days a week. After a while, it was my main goal each week to hit 10,000 steps on my Fitbit, five days a week. I tracked my exercise progress and weight loss meticulously. I also stopped drinking beer every meal out.

In my first job, I was doing business development in addition to my main role. I made a spreadsheet with names, emails, phone numbers, etc. of faculty members of various Entrepreneurship programs. I made it a goal to contact at least one person on that list each day in hopes they had students who might need our consulting services. This ultimately led to closing my first deal.

Track your progress. It doesn’t matter what that progress is for, just track it.

Know that you’re improving in the long run, even if you’re stagnant in the short run. And know that success doesn’t come overnight. You’re not going to hit your goal quickly. If you do, that’s called luck.

Start tracking your progress today. Do this every day. Try to keep the streak alive.

Eventually, it’ll be so ingrained you won’t want to break it.

Watch this quick video from Entrepreneur.com of James Clear explaining the origin of Jerry Seinfeld’s famous “Don’t Break the Chain” technique.

Hey! Thanks for reading our post. If you like what you’ve read, why not consider getting Feasible sent to your inbox every other day. Sign up here!

--

--

Feasible
Feasible

Advice on growing smarter and getting better.