Saira Elizabetti
Feathers and Ink
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2017

--

DAY 1 - January 1, 2017

Running Fox

This is where I have come to, this is where I was meant to be. I look down with trembling knees, there’s no turning back now. Tiny pebbles roll off the edge as I shake immensely.

I bend down slowly, using my jelly-like arms to hold me up, keep me from falling. Running Fox grabs my arm with his strong hand, somehow telling me that it’s ok, I am safe.

We sit together, gazing out on the valley below, admiring its’ natural beauty. It has been sixteen days since I met Running Fox, which is what I decided to call him. I can’t communicate through words, but I’ve learned to communicate with him in other ways.

Running Fox is an excellent artist, he uses this way to communicate with me, I however am more of a theatrical performer. Our time together has turned into the ultimate game of pictionary and charades.

Running Fox has shown me how to use this glider that is sitting behind us, waiting for me to be ready. He is going to glide too, right along with me on his own glider, which makes me feel realistically better, but there’s still so much worry in my mind.

Gliding is really nothing compared to what I’ve already accomplished, but still the fear stifles me. I have travelled half of my years just to get here, and I was the only of our kind to survive. If I parish here in this flight, it will be the end, the end for everyone on Earth who had faith in us, faith in humanity. This planet is our only hope. I am the only hope.

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
Feathers and Ink

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.