The Scroll (Part 1)

Saira Elizabetti
Feathers and Ink
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2017

My Dearest Family,

I presume you have found the secret hiding place of this scrolled up letter, within the can, within a box, within a bag, within a box, within a can, in the hole, in the ground, where I have placed it. As you have already put in so much effort into finding me, which I have seen on the late night news and chocolate milk cartons, I must give you more details as to my secret location, which I cannot reveal the details to you all at once. I will however, inform you that I am currently safe, and I wish that you will call off the searches for me, it only puts me in danger. Nonetheless, I am compelled to share the stories of our family with you, in the hopes that you will be able to connect the dots, and reunite with me once again. Please know, that I miss you all very, very much.

It all started with the story of your father’s great uncle’s wife’s brother’s aunt’s nephew Frederick. He once was exactly where I presume you to be right now, exactly where you have found my letter. Frederick’s hair was once a luscious afro, he had chubby little cheeks, black framed glasses, and a scar across his pudgy little nose. He was quite ordinary, really.

One day at the dull age of eight, while his seven brothers and sisters were completely exhausted of his pesky behaviour, Frederick decided to dig a gigantic hole in the backyard, for which he would coax his siblings into late that night with the hopes of an exciting surprise, then, he would bury them alive. It was part of his menacing scheme to rid the world of his treacherous siblings and live the life of the only child he had always wished to be.

Part 2

If you are interested in seeing how this novel plays out, or have interest in any of my other creative writing, please follow my publication Feathers and Ink.

If you are interested in any of my other writing of opinions and truth, please follow my publication This Brain of Mine.

Thanks for reading, Saira Elizabetti.

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
Feathers and Ink

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.