Chennai has never been this beautiful to me before…

GOKUL A C
5 min readMar 6, 2024

--

https://unsplash.com/photos/silhouette-of-bicycle-on-beach-during-sunset-oHS2WfgMmrg

A month-long vacation in my hometown

Chapter One: Surprise Visit

This was a planned surprise trip to visit my family after a 1-year long journey to pursue my master’s abroad. Though it was planned, it collapsed when my connecting flight from Dubai was missed due to the delay in my initial flight from the UK and the next flight was 12 hours away. Thankfully, I was provided with an on-arrival visa and a room to stay in until the next flight. That was a very new experience for me to stay in a place which was unplanned and waiting for things to get normal (all alone).

Finally, I reached home 12 hours later than the time I planned and made a shocking surprise to my parents. It felt wholesome to see them purely happy from the heart. And I got a little scolding for not informing them priorly 😂.

Chapter Two: Vacation (not just a visit)

I had a clear plan of things to be ticked before leaving Chennai. It might be funny for a few, but I enjoyed it as much as possible doing stuff I like. I at least watched 3 films a week in the theatre and ate all the Indian foods I love with the most satisfaction of affordable pricing.

https://unsplash.com/photos/gray-and-blue-train-under-gray-sky-5zflD5EWjs4

Met my friends, cousins, and relatives with a good plan of meeting friends on weekends as they are busy in weeks, and meeting relatives on weekdays depending on their availability. Thankfully, we had a family function that month where I got a chance to meet most relatives (so I didn’t have to visit everyone’s home 😜). Moreover, I roamed around Chennai city on a friend’s scooter to whom I’d be grateful forever.

Literally felt, a solo ride in Chennai city on a scooter is bliss.

Chapter Three: Beauty of Chennai that I’ve rarely noticed before

https://unsplash.com/photos/people-walking-on-street-during-daytime-myYlGeopRbQ

Being born and brought up in Chennai, I realized that I’ve failed to notice the existing beauty of my city and the pleasure of having a life there. This consciously happened because, I started thinking the way when I started my life in Nottingham, UK. While my mind was tuned to think that way, Chennai felt like a sweet spot for living a great life, for me. I’m pretty sure this wouldn’t have happened if I never moved abroad.

The roadside tea shops, always active roads, warm weather, and affordable food trucks are the main factors making my city a lot more beautiful to my eyes.

Chapter Four: Matured Family Bonding

To be honest, I haven’t shared a very friendly bond with my parents. Could say a typical Indian parenting was all I’ve been raised in. We haven’t discussed much about any of our personal lives or daily happenings in the house. But, this time it was surprising to me to have a spontaneous connection with my parents, especially with my dad, whom I considered to be a strict military officer in my childhood.

https://unsplash.com/photos/silhouette-of-man-standing-beside-shore-under-brown-sky-during-daytime-0iqkntLw93A

I had a lot of meaningful conversations with my mom, which mostly turned out to be debates, trying to fill the generational gaps in our thought process. We almost started discussing everything which we tagged as taboo in childhood. We did discuss parts of a book that hit hard, and scenes in a movie with deep meaning, etc. The biggest change I noticed was my mom never scolded me for roaming out this time, which she always did a year back.

Me and my dad had a really good time going out for coffee in the evenings, chatting about our daily happenings (that I never dreamed would happen in my life), trolling each other for our stupid mistakes, etc. I somewhere felt that this man had started understanding my life a little bit and was being empathetic towards me. This was one main piece where I realized how much I’ve become a MAN from leaving my town as a BOY a year before. It might have been my mature talks and actions that my dad noticed to believe I’m a grown man now. That was a completely different kinda feel to be in, realizing how much my parents' view towards me has changed. I wasn’t really mentally prepared to accept these changes, but it was a sweet surprise ❤️

Chapter Five: Emotional Goodbye

https://unsplash.com/photos/man-sitting-on-gang-chair-near-window-qK6HAkB91Yc

As I was noticing these pleasant changes in my circle, it was not an easy goodbye to get back to the UK as it used to be. Because, the first time I left my home, I was too excited to start a new life independently leaving all those restrictions and strict rules set by my family. So, it was not at all emotional but joyful.

This goodbye was completely opposite of what I expected. Having experienced all the changes that I longed for from my childhood in this one month, something was holding me back.

Self-Realizing being a MAN:

During my flight journey back to the UK, I recollected events that happened this month and realized how much the one year abroad has changed me. From following a disciplined lifestyle, consciously avoiding junk foods (not always, but mostly), maintaining a healthy sleep cycle, and importantly being extra kind to strangers without hesitation. Also, I’ve started being ruthlessly honest with my parents rather than hiding things for fear of being judged or scolded. I feel this specific trait is what brings me more respect than any other quality.

A new journey begins this month (Mar 2024). Lot more emotional rides to experience.

Cheers!

--

--