My internship at Tactii and Tactlabs

Journey with Tactii and Tactlabs

jayasurya karthikeyan
featurepreneur
4 min readMar 13, 2021

--

Perks of having an internship

You need the experience to get experience. This seems to be the biggest issue for young adults transitioning into the workforce these days.

A practical work background carries a major significance when attempting to enter the job market. It’s all about competition.

Generally, an internship is a task-specific exchange of service for experience between a student and a business. Within internships, classroom concepts suddenly become real tools of the trade as you interact and learn in a professional setting. Internship experiences are formal, formative, and foundational to your career.

Developing your knowledge of workplace collaboration, business etiquette, and strong communication tactics are among the vital “soft skills” that can only be learned on the job. In this way, internships in your area of study will build your résumé and teach you instrumental, career-developing qualities.

My internship with Tactii and Tactlabs has helped me to realize my potential as a computer science student and a future computer science engineer to be. This phase has helped me to use my gained theoretical knowledge to put it into practical skills.

Getting started with my internship

My journey getting into Tactii and Tactlabs was pleasant and smooth, we had 2–3 assessments regarding our technical knowledge and we had a one-one session with our mentor Raja CSP Raman. He mentored us throughout my journey being a helpful guide in the journey to attain my expertise in a particular skill.

I was assigned a team of 3 skillful team-members and would like to show my gratitude for believing in my skill.

What's work without some fun?

Unlike other internships that I have attended where most of them focus on the work to be completed, I was blessed to be a part of a team where having fun was being equally regarded to getting the work getting completed. Every week we would have competitions like “Trivia time” and “Featureprenuer -Spin the wheel” and guess what? you were paid for having fun!.

Not only was the fun aspect given importance, but we were also made to interact with the professionals pertaining to the particular domains and industries so that we could gain some expertise and outside would exposure to industries while we were attending our pre-final year in our colleges. This aspect helped me to have a connect

This aspect of engaging our core team impressed me and I was pleased to be a part of the team.

A day in the life of a Tactii and Tactlab intern

We were assigned a task and were made to update as soon as some progress has been made. At this moment I would like to thank Raja CSP Raman as he was understanding and knew the type of obstacles that we were faced with. He gave us abundant time to rectify our mistakes and patiently listened to our queries. He helped our team in the technical as well as non -technical aspect, and it was a pleasure working for him and his team.

We were assigned different types of projects, and this helped us to learn skills pertaining to different fields in computer science. For eg, we would work on both front-end as well as the machine learning aspects of the project. This type of flexibility is what i believe will help us to know the real-life aspects of our job.

The outcome

The outcome of this internship was immeasurable. We as a team gained in-depth knowledge on not only the technical aspects of our future jobs but also the soft skill aspect of our job, which cannot be taught theoretically. Overall I would conclude by saying this was the best aspect of being a student intern, o be able to feel and understand the real-world scenarios mixed with the fun experiences that one could offer.

--

--

jayasurya karthikeyan
featurepreneur

Intern at Tactii and Tactlabs. Aviation geek, Computer Science enthusiast