My Internship Journey at Featurepreneur.

Sarumathy P
featurepreneur
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2023

Embarking on an internship is a crucial milestone in any aspiring developer’s journey. From January 2022 to March 2023, I had the incredible opportunity to work as a Developer Intern at Featurepreneur, where I was immersed in a dynamic environment that fostered growth and learning. Throughout this internship, I honed my technical skills in Flask, FastAPI, Docker, Selenium, and AWS, while also developing essential soft skills. In this article, I will share my experiences, projects, and the valuable lessons I learned during my internship at Featurepreneur.

Real-World Application Development:

From the very start of my internship, I had the opportunity to work on real-world applications. Initially, I collaborated with my seniors, learning from their expertise as we completed tasks together. This hands-on experience allowed me to gain valuable insights into the development process.

As time progressed, I was entrusted with tasks that I completed by acquiring the necessary knowledge and skills.

Collaborative Projects and Enhancing Featurepreneur’s Website

During my internship at Featurepreneur, I had the exciting opportunity to contribute to the company’s website and collaborate with fellow interns. Together, we worked on enhancing the website’s functionality by adding new features, such as browsing courses and managing credits.

Through collaborative efforts, we brainstormed ideas, shared insights, and collectively implemented these features to improve the user experience of Featurepreneur’s website.

Automating Processes and Optimizing Data Collection:

Effective data collection is crucial for businesses and projects as it provides valuable insights and information that drive decision-making and analysis. At Featurepreneur, we recognize the importance of data collection and leverage automation tools to streamline this process. Selenium and Sikuli are two powerful tools I utilized to automate data collection and enhance efficiency. The automation I did was fun and Interesting.

Containerization with Docker

During my internship at Featurepreneur, I had the opportunity to gain hands-on experience with Docker, a powerful containerization platform. Additionally, I had the privilege of attending sessions with experienced seniors who shared their expertise and insights, enabling me to further enhance my skills. In this article, I will share my experience of working with Docker and the valuable lessons I learned through collaborative sessions with senior professionals.

DevOps and Cloud Journey:

During my internship at Featurepreneur, I had an exciting introduction to cloud computing through Amazon Web Services (AWS). It was my first step into this dynamic field, where I got to explore the wide range of services offered by AWS, deploy applications, and pass on my knowledge to my junior colleagues. It was an enriching experience that allowed me to learn and grow while making complex concepts easy to understand for others

Peer-to-Peer Learning:

At Featurepreneur, we had a valuable practice called “Knowledge Transfer” or KT. This involved sharing our newly acquired knowledge of technologies with others, allowing us to both expand our own understanding and help others grow. Whenever we learned new technology, we would conduct KT sessions to transfer that knowledge to our colleagues. These sessions were interactive and informative, aiming to make complex concepts understandable and accessible to everyone. Through this process, we not only enriched our own knowledge but also contributed to the collective growth and learning within our team.

Fun Games, Hackathons, and social Sessions:

During our internship at Featurepreneur, we recognized the importance of taking breaks and fostering a positive work environment. To counter long periods of sitting or extended workdays, we incorporated fun games into our routine. These short breaks, typically lasting 30 to 45 minutes, provided an opportunity to unwind, relax, and engage in enjoyable activities together. In addition to the recreational breaks, we also organized social sessions to address societal issues and encourage open discussions.

Punctuality:

Being punctual is highly valued in workplaces. The company places a strong emphasis on adhering to the designated start time which is flexible. They take punctuality very seriously, expecting employees to join at the specified time without delay.

My internship journey at Featurepreneur was a transformative experience that allowed me to apply my knowledge, learn new technologies, and develop crucial skills for a career in software development. Working on real-world projects, collaborating with talented individuals, and overcoming challenges have shaped me both professionally and personally.

I am grateful for the hands-on opportunities, mentorship, and valuable skills I acquired during this internship. As I move forward in my career, I am confident that the experiences and lessons learned at Featurepreneur will serve as a solid foundation for my future endeavors.

--

--