My journey with Tactlabs

Godlin Hilda J
featurepreneur
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2021

Do you wanna have an edge on others, then you have come to the right place. Working with Tactlabs will open your eyes to a whole new world filled with loads of new technologies and frameworks that will surely increase your thirst for knowledge.

My time here at Tactlabs is something that I will treasure through the years. Before coming to Tactlabs, I had no hands-on experience and knew nothing about the trending technologies. But after joining, I got the chance to explore new technologies and gain valuable work experience. I was able to make a smooth transition from “Wow, I will not be able to do it” to “Wow, I wanna try it” to “Wow, I did it”. As there is a helpful community to back you up whenever you feeling stuck, you will be able to experiment on new things without having any fear.

Here are some technologies that I was able to explore at Tactlabs :

Github :

This is a skill that you will learn on day 1 at Tactlabs. As we will be working in teams, it is mandatory to collaborate with more than one person. This is when GitHub comes in handy to share code among team members. I had no prior knowledge of Git or GitHub, but after a week’s time at my internship, I became very comfortable with those.

This skill is one of the must-haves for all developers. In Tactlabs, you will learn this skill as a bonus while learning other applications.

Ubuntu :

It is mandatory to use Ubuntu during the internship. Even if you have windows, fear not as you will be guided step by step to set up Ubuntu on your PC. Through the course of the internship, you will become so used to Ubuntu and its commands that you will not feel like going back to windows.

Flask :

Flask is a micro web framework written in python. You will be given small tasks and works so that you will become familiar with the application before you are assigned bigger tasks. You will also be introduced to an experienced person in that particular field so that you can reach out when you need help.

Docker :

You will have rapid learning sessions at the starting where you will be able to learn a lot. There will also be dedicated sessions and KT sessions for installation and setting up applications on your PC. You will learn how to dockerize your applications and various other things.

My experience :

Timing :

Here at Tactlabs, There will be flexible working hours. You can work at any time and finish your work before the given deadline. When you are given a project, you can set the deadline and start working. The only thing needed is that you should give a daily update of the current status of the project.

Ask me anything sessions :

We will have AMA sessions, where an expert will sit down with us for a meet and answer all our queries and doubts. They will also share their experience and tell us about what is currently happening with the industry. It is always good to keep ourselves updated in this dynamic world.

Trivia Time :

We will have trivia time where anyone can participate without any prior preparations. The questions will be both technical and non-technical which will only require a little bit of thinking. Winners for the session will be awarded a small token of appreciation. It will be a fun way to take a break from the work and recharge yourself.

Conclusion :

Photo by Jud Mackrill on Unsplash

I enjoyed my time here at Tactlabs. I learned a lot of new applications and technologies. But the best part was I was able to make new friends, work alongside very talented members and learn from them. Looking back, I have come a long way from where I started.

I am truly grateful to Mr. Raja CSP and Tactlab community for giving me this opportunity and helping me discover the skills and talents that I possessed.

--

--