SuperStar Teacher — Rachel KH — Interview

Danielle Simpson
FeedbackPanda
4 min readJan 30, 2018

--

This week’s SuperStar Teacher is Teacher Rachel KH. Her sixty-eight shared templates have been downloaded nearly 4000 times! She is also a winter sport enthusiast, both skiing and snowboarding when there is enough snow. Here is her interview.

Tricks for staying alert: Oh boy, this is great question. I wish that I could say that I woke up early enough to get some exercise done and drink a couple glasses of water. Exercise and water are the two things that wake me up the fastest. However, that is so not a reality for me. Due to the early hours, I only have time to quickly drink a SPARK energy drink, splash some cool water on my face, and get to teaching!

Favorite Lesson to teach: This may sound crazy, but I love teaching the trial or lessons from Level 2 Unit 10. I use ManyCam and combining ManyCam with the animals in this lesson is so much fun! It is especially fun when the student is trial or new and they have previously never seen ManyCam. Any of the lessons about Chinese culture are also my favorites. Those lessons give the students an opportunity to be the teacher which can be fun and engaging for both of us.

What do you do in between classes? If I have time, I make sure all of my feedback is loaded and ready to adjust according the student. I rarely have time for much of anything though.

I love skiing and snowboarding! Everyone in my family (with the exception of the 5 year old who is currently learning how to ski) skis and snowboards. We love having the option to do either one depending on the snow conditions.

How do you use FeedbackPanda? I love Feedback Panda for everything that it has to offer. I use it for organization and to save time. I also love seeing and using other teacher’s templates and adjusting accordingly. I try to open all of my classes the night before and load up each student’s feedback page. If I have time, I will complete feedback between classes. This rarely happens, so I generally finish feedback after I finish teaching.

Describe your Feedback Style/Structure: When I first started my feedback was simple. Now that I have seen so many different styles of feedback, it is more detailed. I love structure and consistency.

Good Feedback Must Contain…a few stars and at least one wish. I believe positive information about the student is really important. There is always something good that we can recognize in each one of these (mostly) darling kiddos. This is extracurricular for them and I admire their dedication. My son takes LingoBus lessons and I cannot express how difficult it can be sometimes to understand what is going in the lesson, let alone make it to the lesson on time and prepared. I always add at least one thing, if not more, that they need to work on as well.

What do you like to see when checking the Teacher to Teacher Feedback? I like to see information about the student’s behavior and performance. I don’t usually have time to read detailed teacher to teacher feedback, so short and sweet is what I prefer.

Notes or comments to the teachers who import your templates? Please excuse any errors in my feedback. Lol! I know that I need to go back and clean up a few of them, but I have just not found the time.

Any other comments you wish to communicate… : ) Thank you to all the teachers that contribute feedback. I love learning and borrowing from all of you!

--

--