8 Things I Wish I Knew Before Self-Publishing My First Book on Amazon

Look out for these lessons if you’re thinking of publishing

J.J. Pryor
Feedium
Published in
13 min readNov 10, 2020

--

A lot of us have had a long-held dream to someday publish a book. And why not? It’s a really cool thing to do.

It brings a sense of accomplishment, perhaps some bragging rights, and an incredible joy when you finally get your hands on something you created out of thin air.

Trust me, it’s an amazing feeling.

For the past year, while blogging along, I’ve been jotting down book ideas in my phone whenever they pop into my head (in addition to thousands of article ideas of course — the blogger’s curse!)

Then in August, I had an opportune conversation with one of my artist friends who was out of work, bored, and looking for a fun project to work on.

I mentioned a bunch of my sillier ideas and she was hooked almost instantly.

So, for the next 8 weeks, we hacked away at creating an illustrated book to bring it to life.

Here’s how that process went, what I found most frustrating, and what I’ll do next time I publish a book.

How I created a children's book (for adults) on Amazon using ‘friendsourcing’

--

--

J.J. Pryor
Feedium

3.01 Mil reads | Ex-pat | Ex-Head Product | Ex-cuse Me | PB&T creator | Top 100 Writer | jjpryor.substack.com