I Gained 5 Top Writer Tags in 24 Hours — Here’s How You Can Too

A simple 5 step process you can replicate for overnight success

Sam Dixon Brown
Feedium

--

Photo by Kaleidico on Unsplash

After nearly 8 months on Medium, I had around 1,200 followers, was getting around 10,000 views per month but only had 2 Top Writer tags under my belt.

So, last week I realized I must be doing something wrong and it was time to fix things. I wanted more Top Writer tags dammit.

After taking a closer look, I realized that I’d been using tags pretty randomly and decided that I should get more strategic about how I tag my articles, with the hope that over the next couple of months I’d have a chance of picking up another Top Writer tag or two.

Little did I expect that within 24 hours I’d have 5.

I hurriedly told a small writers’ WhatsApp group my strategy and it worked for those who tried it too.

So, here’s my strategy for how I picked up 5 new Top Writer tags overnight and how you can apply the same technique.

What is Top Writer and why should you care?

Medium’s algorithm picks 50 Top Writers that it deems to be the most important (presumably based on views and engagement) in each of 73 categories, based on the tags that are applied…

--

--