Meta

Meet the Gen X Perez Hilton of Medium

Yes, it’s me 😭😭😭

I, Napoleon B.
Feedium
Published in
4 min readSep 30, 2022

--

Meet the Gen X Perez Hilton of Medium
Photo by Paige Deasley:

When I started writing on Medium, I shared personal stories. While I enjoyed the process and it was even therapeutic, nobody was reading them. Thank God!

Just kidding.

I’m grateful to share that Medium has become my bread and butter and it’s about half a slice of bread with compound butter. 😭 I mean, because I don’t need much now that I’m in my 50s, I can live with what I make on Medium.

Making at least $500 a month is enough and only because I live in a dual-income household.

You see, I’m partnered.

And sometimes I forget how lucky I am. Because I know not many writers here, some are much better storytellers than I am and can say the same thing.

The only reason I’m writing this is that after I read this essay from The New York Times that I realized I have been less grateful for what I have when there is so much to be thankful for in my life now including my partner and my two fur babies — Phi Phi and Crocker.

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Feedium

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS