This Is How I Reached 250K Views on Medium in a Year and Earned $2700

But my views are down these months. Writing is the most unpredictable thing one can experience.

Israrkhan
Feedium
4 min readSep 8, 2022

--

A man sitting on a barren mound infront of a beautiful village
Photo by Adrian Dascal on Unsplash

Why does nobody talk about this?

I have been writing on Medium for 23 months now and have written well-performing articles. I have also some bad stuff that only fell flat on the ground.

However, The articles I have written and considered to be good and expected that they would perform better have never done well.

The articles I didn’t give thoughts to did very well.

But I can’t do it to start a thoughtless writing process because it may lead to more slump.

Still, my writing never failed to get views in thousands and even earn decent money. Still, it's way below my expectations.

Here are my well-performing articles in terms of views

Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author

Here Are My Well-Performing Articles In Terms of Money

Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author
Screenshot by Author

So you see? writing is highly unpredictable.

You can’t expect what happens next.

I started writing on Medium to improve my writing. But when I joined the platform, I found that the platform is a way bigger world than just improving one’s writing.

I came to know about the MPP and joined it soon. But I didn’t know how to write an article that would earn me money.

My first freelance writing career started with Medium. Before writing for it, I worked as a translator for a month.

Then I wanted to start writing and watched videos on YouTube to know where to start. One of the YouTubers mentioned that Medium is best for developing a portfolio, views, and getting clients, so I joined it.

One of the Article Went Popular

One of my articles even went popular. That was an awesome moment when one of my Medium friends Shenbaga Lakshmi send me the screenshot of my article that went popular.

Here is the screenshot

Why My Views and Earnings are Down?

What I learned from writing almost for two years on Medium, is that consistency matters a lot.

When you regularly write and publish more often, you will experience huge traction in your views and your earnings too.

But if you don’t publish more, you won’t get enough engagement from your readers unless you are a big name.

When I was writing consistently, everything was going well. I was getting more followers and more traction.

Once I slowed down the process of writing, the Medium algorithm also pushed me behind a curtain where readers couldn’t see me.

So, if you want to get more views and earnings, write a lot but don’t compromise the quality of your writing.

Wrapping Up

Although I have crossed a milestone that many cherish both in views and earnings too, my views are down these days.

Fewer views mean fewer reads and that is what we are paid for. If you have fewer reads in a day, your earnings will be drastically reduced.

But this is also contested among many writers because sometimes fewer reads yield good money.

But apart from views and earning, there is another thing that I like more — the writing process.

It helps me express my thoughts without any fear or obstruction. Writing helps me forget my daily problems and offers me a sense of satisfaction and contentment.

I feel fulfilled when I write. That’s what I do it for. But when satisfaction and contentment turn to monetary support, writing becomes more rewarding.

Want to read more of my stories and gain unlimited access to other great stories on Medium? Consider joining Medium through my referral link for just $5/month. Your monthly payment will support me directly. Sign up here to get my articles whenever I publish.

--

--