Why Having A Medium Profile Isn’t Enough When Writing Online

You need a space that you control.

Kristina God, MBA
Feedium

--

Why Your Medium Profile Isn’t Enough When Writing Online
made with Canva

The other day, I got asked whether content creators need a website.

If you would have asked me last year, I would have said:

“No, you can also pick one social, for instance, your Medium account. You don’t need to have your own website.”

This year, in this day and time, I absolutely recommend having your own website.

A Medium profile isn’t enough. It’s not yours.

Relying on a blogging platform owned and operated by a corporation other than your own puts you at huge risk.

The policies, algorithms, pricing, and guidelines of Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, and Medium can change dramatically from one day to the next.

As you might have experienced within the last past weeks, views are down, the “true follow feed” doesn’t show your followers your posts anymore, Tony Stubblebine sees Medium as a place for subject matter experts.

When you’ve read one of my latest stories about what’s been going on here, you might scratch your head and wonder:

“Did I miss the memo when I signed up?”

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
Feedium

Bestselling Substack writer I Marketing Expert I Top Writer I Helps you write, market and monetize your writing.⚡ Sign up: https://kristinagod.substack.com/