Why Medium Gave Me A $50 Bonus

Grace Mary Power
Feedium
Published in
5 min readJun 5, 2021

--

Medium Partner Program Bonus
Screenshot taken from an Email from Medium to me, Celine Lai

I couldn’t be more astonished to have seen the following notification on my Member Partner Program (MPP) page when I went to my dashboard, to check out my May 2021 earnings!

Notification, provided by CL

For “the most member reads, claps, and follows” in April 2021, Medium gave 1,000 lucky writers a bonus of $500 USD. While I didn’t get that bonus, under new terms for May 2021, gratefully, I did receive a bonus.

I was one of those who said that Medium should consider paying more writers, maybe with less than $500. $500 USD is a heck of a lot to some of us.

Those with lots of reads would already be earning good money under the MPP, so a bonus of $500 would ramp up their earnings big-time. Good for them.

But what about those loyal to Medium in terms of being a paying member for months or years, and publishing and marketing as many stories as they can? Not everyone has the time to publish every day or writes for high earning niches.

Having joined Medium in Nov 2018 I aimed to publish 3 to 5 stories a week, every week, with what I call one “major” story a month. 😄A “major” story is on a topic which you feel will garner a high reader engagement. I…

--

--

Grace Mary Power
Feedium

Editor of Thirty over Fifty. I help you to care for yourself through spirituality and tech. We need both.