You’ll Fail on Medium Unless It Feels Like Easy Money

This is the right attitude to be successful here

Melissa Balick
Feedium

--

Depositphotos

I have no real idea what my hourly wage is for writing on Medium.

Sometimes an article that took me hours to write and revise makes me $10, other times I write and revise something in two hours and it earns well over $500. I never know which articles will take off.

Yet, none of my time writing on Medium feels wasted, because for me, it’s easy and fun. The surprise runaway hits that keep paying month after month are a wonderful bonus.

Most days, I start anywhere from 1 to 8 drafts. Currently, I have 167 drafts. Each one is an idea I have for an article, which usually comes in the form of a headline. I may have written a bunch of notes in the draft, or even a couple paragraphs.

I have lots of ideas because I’m one opinionated motherfucker, and lots of things bother me. Plus, I’m a know-it-all. All these things can make me pretty unpleasant in real life, but they give me a big leg-up for generating article ideas here on Medium.

I was reading some of my potential headlines to my sister over the phone, and she said, “I can see why this format works for you.” I’ve never been shy about spouting off, and now I get to do it and sometimes get paid hundreds…

--

--

Melissa Balick
Feedium

Fiction writer with a couple stories published in literary magazines, nanny, reader of way too many books.