In ch-ch-changes times story is my everything

Thoughts on world book day

mariana feistauer
feistlab
2 min readApr 24, 2019

--

“I don’t know where I’m going from here but I promise it won’t be boring.” David Bowie

A presentation, a strategy, the design of a product, consumers journey, a group meeting, an email, a BPM framework … everything is a story.

A story is a structure of events that generate meaning.

I've grown up among books.
I even tried to pursue a career as a screenwriter when I was a young college student.
That led me to some time studying scripts and crafting my writing skills.

When I first started in the advertising market as a strategist, my background was much more of a creative storyteller. Looking at my work with a story-crafting mindset was second nature.

In the last years, the whole market is going nuts about the ch ch ch changes times.
Every creative work is more fluid about what the ̶f̶u̶c̶k ̶ is our end product.
This mindset and my faith in David Bowie led me to love this changing times.

It feels like writing because it is

When working, we start thinking about the user or clients, the pains and graces. Connect with them by empathy and imagination, just like in a character designing process.
The whole thing is crafting a better story since the problem until the "superhero solving product" and every step from first touch point to end and back again.

Script structures are also very good to design emails or meetings. It creates a mood, it brings people closer, it optimizes the whole working process.

The field of business innovation is boosting the talk about Design Fiction. Utopic and dystopic Hypothesis for the future of humanity in the form of research studies spiced by content.

My story process is a very personal path. Developing your own process to overcome challenges in life and brighten up your ideas can change everything. This is a brief story about mine.

Tips about writing:

read and write, read and write and repeat.

Imagination is harder, it takes soft skills and courage to be open about your ideas. The only tool for courage is "do it".

Books about Story:

Story by Bob Mackie

My favorite book about it. The Three-Dimensional character theory is very helpful in the making of human personas.

The hero’s journey by Joseph Campbell.

Essential to understanding the mythological structure that shaped the western way of thinking.

--

--

mariana feistauer
feistlab

Creative Strategist. I work with brands and digital experiences. I also write about ch ch ch changes.