“Make calculated decisions, take intelligent risks, always move your ideas forward” with Dr. Heather Smith

Kristin Marquet
Fem Founder
Published in
6 min readMay 15, 2022

--

Mom, partner, and ICU physician, Dr. Heather Smith was inspired to introduce bareLUXE Skincare at the height of the pandemic. Part passion, part enterprise, and part coping, she began work to transform her extract oil blends into refined and luxurious formulations. Emphasizing corporate ethics and sustainability, the bareLUXE™ brand is set to become a disruptive innovator and push the plastic-free movement into the premium skincare market.

Can you tell our readers about your background?

I’ve always loved learning new things and, when I find something that brings me joy, I tend to immerse myself into it very deeply. This has been true both personally and professionally. I started my career as a nurse in the intensive care unit in 1999. Since 2013, I have been practicing as a Critical Care physician after a long period of returning to school.

I often joke that I’m a compulsive hobby starter. Being on the learning curve and practicing new skills keeps me happy and productive. This has taken me through many things ranging from photography, art, quilting, and skincare. The timing of taking up something new often matches the timing of a stressful life event. Severe post-partum anxiety got me into quilting. COVID got me…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Fem Founder

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.