Miral Kotb Interview — Fem Founder™

Kristin Marquet
Fem Founder
Published in
7 min readJul 28, 2020

--

Miral Kotb is a female entrepreneur who used her life-long love of dance and computer coding to create the global dance sensation iLuminate. Kotb has battled uncertain times being a two-time cancer survivor over the years but still managed to create something beautiful during this time. iLuminate were finalists on America’s Got Talent and Kotb is preparing to take their show to the bright lights of the Las Vegas Strip.

www.iluminate.com

Can you tell our readers about your background?

Dancing has always been a part of my culture. Before my parents emigrated from Cairo to Houston, my Father was a performer in Egypt’s national dance troupe. My Mother is an economist, which I feel is where I got my love for math and science. When I was nine, my parents brought home our first desktop computer and I was hooked! They enrolled me in a computer coding class and I quickly began writing code for fun and making my own games. When people played the games I created, it felt communal and was another part of bonding myself into American culture.

While growing up, I continued to dance and eventually landed at Columbia University to continue my path with coding and dancing. I eventually took my knowledge to Bloomberg as a software engineer and kept dancing and honing my skills in my free time. I had finally reached a point…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Fem Founder

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.