Credit: The Swing Shift

Meet Sarah Duenwald and Nancy Jensen, Co-Founders of The Swing Shift

Q&A with Female Founders

Joanna Ngai
Q&A with Female Founders
4 min readJul 26, 2018

--

Sarah Duenwald and Nancy Jensen run The Swing Shift, a startup dedicated to lifting barriers that impede women from finding meaningful work. Designed specifically for women who are moving into a new field or returning to the workforce after an extended absence, offering a wide range of expert-led programming focused on navigating the modern job search.

Sarah Duenwald

Is this where you thought you would end up?

Sarah: Not at all and some days I am still pleasantly surprised and grateful. I would describe myself as very risk averse so if someone would have told me I would quit my job and start a company I never would’ve believed it.

I always saw myself as someone who would be climbing the traditional corporate ladder for the lifetime of my career, but my priorities changed and so did my vision for myself.

Nancy Jensen

What does work/life balance mean to you?

Nancy: Work-life balance like one of those Bosu balls at the gym: sometimes you stay parallel, sometimes you fall off, sometimes you’re trembling holding heavy weights doing squats. You keep trying to get stronger.

Starting a family in my 40’s forced me to be super compartmentalized: when I’m at work, that’s all I do. Home, the same. (I do listen to podcasts while working out: multi-task goals!)

Work-life balance like one of those Bosu balls at the gym: sometimes you stay parallel, sometimes you fall off…You keep trying to get stronger.

What are you most proud of?

Sarah: Building a company that empowers women to take control of their career. There is a continuously growing ecosystem that focuses on supporting women in the workforce and I am so proud to be a part of that.

Nancy: I love that we work successfully with so many different people and organizations with the common goal of changing the modern workplace.

Any recommended books that have helped you?

Sarah: One I have been enjoying recently is called “Second Life,” by MyDomaine. They interview women CEO’s who have completely pivoted in their careers. It reminds me that you really are the creator of your own destiny.

Nancy: For planning our business, the classics: Michael Porter’s Competitive Strategy, Geoffrey Moore’s Crossing The Chasm, — both of my copies are worn and taped together. I like Rhonda Abrams’ Successful Business Plan series for practical how-to advice. For inspiration, Madeline Albright’s A Memoir. For culture catch-up: It’s Been a Minute with Sam Sanders. (It’s not a book but it’s fun!)

Where do you go to find inspiration?

Sarah: I get inspiration from the women who go through our program. They are so accomplished, intelligent, and motivated to make an impact in the work they do.

Nancy: My grandparents all immigrated to the U.S. in search of better lives; they had families, and worked incredibly hard at terrible jobs. As a result, I have the opportunities that I do, and feel obliged to do as well as I can at whatever I do. When things get difficult, I remind myself “Is this harder than cleaning houses? Working in a cafeteria? Serving as a governess?” The answer is always no; I get back to work.

What is one piece of advice you wish you could tell your younger self?

Sarah: Get out of your comfort zone and keep experiencing new things. In my 30’s I have finally realized that life is so much more fulfilling (and fun!) when you start taking more chances and putting yourself out there.

Nancy: Don’t worry so much! It will all work out. And call your parents.

Credit: Unsplash

What is one thing in the future that you are excited for?

Sarah: We are starting to partner with companies who recognize and want to support the women who are part of The Swing Shift community. I am looking forward to creating opportunities and jobs specifically for those women who may need a little extra help getting through the traditional hiring process.

Nancy: We’re at a thrilling time in history. I’m stoked to be building productive modern solutions for people and companies; and working with Sarah really makes it twice as fun.

Thanks for reading! To read more stories like this, check out my Q&A series with more female founders.

Did you find this useful? Buy me a coffee to give my brain a hug 🍵

Feel free to check out my design work or my handbook on UX design, upgrading your portfolio and understanding design thinking.

--

--