22. The Letter

Rene Hirsch
Feminine Future
Published in
4 min readFeb 27, 2020

Asherah and Marianna are sitting on a bench in a park, talking in low voices.

MARIANNA

Listen, I have to tell you something about Nahid. Ten days ago, she handed me an envelope for you.

Marianna takes an envelope out of her bag and hands it to Asherah.

MARIANNA

For some time now, Nahid and I thought that we were under surveillance. We had the feeling something was wrong. That’s why she asked me to give you this letter, in case something happened to her.

Asherah looks at the envelope and opens it. She unfolds a single sheet of paper and comes closer to Marianna so that she can read as well. Asherah reads slowly, miming the words with her lips as we hear the voice of Nahid.

NAHID (V.O.)

My beloved Asherah, if you read these lines, it means that something has happened to me. For some time already, Marianna and I have been watched. As a precaution, we have limited our contacts with Omid to the strict minimum.

But then, I received a threatening letter written by the friends of a man that we had treated. They forced his wife to tell them everything, and they warned me of their imminent vengeance. I thought I better take some precautions. We have seen time and again that we should never underestimate men’s madness.

Asherah briefly looks up, then resumes.

NAHID (V.O.)

When taking my decision, I first thought about you, your research, the new product you are developing, and the help you can bring to all the women who suffer unacceptable violence. To make sure I would never reveal your name, I decided to use an old recipe, the cyanide capsule.

My death will put the authorities on your tracks. It’s the reason why I expressly ask you to leave as quickly as possible. Go to Paris, there you’ll be able to continue your work in security. Marianna should go with you, the danger for her being even more real. Don’t waste an instant. You cannot do anything for me anymore, and it would really be a pity if I had died for nothing.

Asherah stops again, before continuing.

NAHID (V.O.)

I’m devastated at the thought of the pain these lines will do to you, but I’m also aware of the incredible strength that inhabits you. In the difficult moments that we went through together, you have proved time and again to be much stronger than I was. You knew how to keep your head cool, while I was losing my nerve.

I love you as I never loved anyone, and I know that there will always be a place for me in your heart. Maybe we will meet again somewhere out there, in a place that everyone hopes to be better. But don’t be in a hurry to join me there, for you must first achieve the destiny imparted to you. Your new discovery will have the power to transform society and will open a new era. Know that I die happy at the idea that I somewhat contributed to its advent.

Your sister forever, Nahid.

The two women remain a moment silent. Still holding the letter in her hand, Asherah asks with a very soft voice:

ASHERAH

Did you know about the cyanide?

MARIANNA

No, but I now understand why her aggressors and the man at the hospital thought she was dead: she really was!

Asherah starts to cry, softly. Marianna takes her in her arms. Tears run down her cheeks as well.

ASHERAH, taking hold of herself

Nahid is right, we have to leave. Sooner or later, they will discover where I work and they will understand the role I played in all this. And if the woman has betrayed Nahid, she surely has given your name as well. They could be watching us at this very moment…

MARIANNA

I’m going to reserve two seats on a flight to Paris for tomorrow afternoon. I will say that I have to go to a conference. I have an appointment tomorrow morning with a woman whose case is serious. We could meet at two o’clock at the airport. What do you think?

ASHERAH

Good. Do you still have pills for your client?

MARIANNA

No, Nahid kept them.

Asherah takes the small box out of her pocket and hands it over to Marianna who puts it in her bag.

MARIANNA

Thank you! What are you going to do with your husband?

ASHERAH

I will ask my neighbor to take care of him. She always does when I have to leave for a few days. She’s used to it.

The two women stand up. Asherah takes Marianna in her arms.

ASHERAH

It’s better that we separate here. I’ll see you tomorrow at the airport. Be careful!

MARIANNA

You too. Bye!

They leave in different directions.

--

--