Public Humiliation in the Comments Section Part V

Grab your calculators, class! It’s time for a pop quiz!

Robert K Starr
Feminista-101
2 min readNov 7, 2023

--

A pen and calculator
Photo by Recha Oktaviani on Unsplash

Violent crime perpetrated by women is on the rise while violent crime overall has been in decline for almost three decades.

Oh, my! So women are violent and nobody’s talking about it or something?

“In 2019, 18–21% of all violent crimes were committed by women (based on violent crime data where the offender’s sex was known (OJJDP, 2020; FBI, 2021). Between 2014 and 2019, women perpetrating violent crimes increased by ∼4.5% (OJJDP, 2020).”

Wow. As much as 21% of violent crime comes from women.

Let me pull out my calculator just to check something real quick.

100% - 21% = 79%

Hmm… that’s interesting.

Let me check something else just to be sure. I’ve been known to make mistakes:

Me asking ChatGPT if 79 is a bigger number than 21. ChatGPT says that it is.

So are women more violent than men? I leave that as an exercise for the reader.

--

--

Robert K Starr
Feminista-101

Romance novelist and screenwriter. Formerly software engineer, physicist, and high school teacher. I love my dog and also your dog.